Wednesday, September 4, 2013

New video and article on the INCOG available at 13CGunReviews.com

As a reminder we've moved over to http://www.13CGunReviews.com

Don't forget to check us out on YouTube

Monday, July 29, 2013

We are transitioning over to 13CGunReviews.com for our articles.

Please visit us at www.13CGunReviews.com all of our articles will be transitioning over to the new sight over the next week.

Thank you for your continued support in the fight for Liberty and the Right to Keep and Bear Arms!

-Joe

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Local Illinois municipalities rushing to get semi-auto bans in place before cutoff.

Local Illinois municipalities are rushing to beat the 10 day window they have to pass any new bans on semiautomatic firearms.

Under the legislation passed establishing Concealed Carry, existing bans on semi-automatic firearms, or so called "assault weapons" can stay on the books and municipalities have 10 days to pass any new bans.  After that, municipalities will no longer be allowed to enact any new semi-auto bans.

Several towns are looking to establish a ban as quickly and quietly as possible.  These meetings will likely not have much notice given and they will be voted on in a single meeting.  Residents will need to be ready to mobilize, make phone calls and show up at short notice.

The Illinois State Rifle Association has a full list of townhall meetings.

I urge any of you in Illinois to stay informed and make sure to make your voice heard at any potential meetings.

We'll keep you updated at our Facebook Page.

Friday, July 12, 2013

Secession movement growing for 51st State. "North Colorado" .

When Colorado approved draconian new gun laws earlier in the year, there was an initial level of blow back that was somewhat expected by lawmakers in the State Capitol.  What has followed is probably something they didn't anticipate.

Recall petitions have been successfully filled, the vast majority of CO Sheriffs have filed a lawsuit and major manufactures are fleeing the state.

Now, 10 counties are in the process of attempting to secede and form their own state.  North Colorado.

The first step is a ballot initiative but it will be a long road and many hurdles will have to be overcome at both the state and federal level.

The revenue generated from some of these counties is substantial and it's unlikely 'old' Colorado will want to see those resources and tax dollars leave.  Several of the counties looking to leave account for upwards of 80% of all the revenue generated from oil and gas in the state.

There will be other issues as well, including those relating to water rights.

If nothing else, hopefully some better representation in the State Senate can occur, where residents are hoping to change from 35 Senators to 64.  One for each of Colorado's counties.

Something has to change in Colorado and it should be a move towards liberty and freedom.  I hope the good people of Colorado can mobilize and get their state back. Several other neighboring counties are also considering joining.

Let us know you thoughts on a possible 51st State at our Facebook Page.


Thursday, July 11, 2013

The bizarre trial of George Zimmerman.

George Zimmerman on the night in question.

The shooting of Trayvon Martin has made national headlines for months and the trial of George Zimmerman has had some very curious twists.

State witnesses have perjured themselves , the State Attorney Angela Corey allegedly hid exculpatory evidence that should have precluded any charges against Zimmerman, let alone a trial and a "Citizens Grand Jury" has indicted the Special Prosecutor.

One of latest incidents comes from the bench.  Judge Debra Nelson asking George Zimmerman if he planned on testifying.  Not just once but multiple times, I cannot recall ever seeing anything quite like that before. Naturally his lawyers objected to the repeated questioning.

Kathy Belich was as flummoxed as the defense: “I have never seen that in more than 30 years of court reporting.”

It is truly a tragic situation unfolding in Florida.  A life was lost and another life is being ruined for what appears to be political motivations.

As a verdict draws near we can only hope and pray justice prevails in this case.

Give us your thoughts at our Facebook Page on this bizarre exchange between the Judge and Mr Zimmerman.

http://youtu.be/UgDuu6i8MtE

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

ISRA files motion to allow carry by July 16th.

The Illinois State Rifle Association believes the State of Illinois is still in violation of a previous Seventh Circuit Court ruling that struck down the ban on Concealed Carry. It could take until mid March of 2014 before the first licenses are actually issued and the ISRA isn't pleased with Illinois stall tactics.

The ISRA has filed a motion to allow concealed carry in Illinois, under the provisions of the law just passed but without a license because citizens Constitutional Rights are still being denied.  The motion asks the District Court to allow carry by July 16th.

In part the ISRA filing states: "Plaintiffs are not asking for an unfettered right to carry firearms in public".  They go on to claim to want carry in accordance of the law recently passed.

Richard Patterson went on to say: "...people are still not allowed the right to carry and won't be for at least another 270 days. In short, our civil rights are still being violated even though the concealed carry bill has passed. Furthermore,  because neither the federal court decision nor the new Carry Act have repealed the AUUW and UUW statutes, law enforcement will continue to enforce both statutes unless a citizen has a valid carry license.  We have asked for immediate relief by Tuesday, July 16, 2013.  We are asking that citizens with FOID cards be allowed to carry in compliance with provisions in HB0183."

We'll keep you up to date as this continues to develop.

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Illinois overrides the Governors Amendatory Veto at the last minute. Original Concealed Carry bill is now law.

The Illinois senate over ride the Governors veto 41-17 earlier in the day and with hours left on the clock the House over rode the veto by 77-31.   The state was under a court order to pass a concealed carry bill, the complete prohibition on the carry of firearms was rightfully ruled unconstitutional by the Illinois Supreme Court.

While the original version of the Concealed carry bill is now the law of the land in Illinois, it will be months before the first license is issued.

With over 70 shootings in Chicago over the long holiday weekend and a dozen murders, concealed carry can't come soon enough for the law abiding citizens of Illinois.


13C Gun Reviews will keep you up to date on all the latest news concerning implementation of the new law and requirements in Illinois.

Concealed carry has reduced violent crime in every state it has been legalized, visit our Facebook page and give us your thoughts on how Concealed Carry will reduce crime in Illinois and what possible effects it will have on the out of control gang problem in Chicago.

-Joe

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Are you more likely to die at the hands of a doctor than a gun? Even in Russia? On Video?

The CDC reports that all medical related errors resulting in death topped 750,000 in 2011.  Compare that about 30,000 deaths from firearms (that number includes over 19,500 suicides) and you find you are about 2,450 times more likely to die at the hands of your Doctor than you are from a firearms related incident.

Perhaps we should license those in the medical field, give them tests from time to time to determine competency, perhaps have them registered?  Check, check and check.  It still doesn't stop all accidents, negligence or criminal behavior.  Does that mean we should stop seeking medical care?  Perhaps we should ban medicine?

Obviously banning medicine is a foolish idea.  Not only would I be out of job but the hundreds of millions of Americans positively effected by medicine obviously outweighs the bad. 

It's the same reason I oppose I virtually all gun control.  Firearms save far more lives and have a far greater positive impact on society than the miniscule amount times they are used carelessly or with malice.

So what about Doctors in Soviet Russia?

Apparently if you aren't gracious enough to your surgeon after open heart surgery you can expect a... education.  If by education you mean the surgeon hitting his restrained patient in the face and chest that is.

There are some things you just can't make up. 

Give us your thoughts at www.Facebook.com/GunReviews


Is this the face of Doctor Death?  The patient expired within a week of being assault.
http://player.ooyala.com/iframe.html#ec=tyMXQwZDp0b5zaNg29l4x0B71GETG1fl&pbid=NDcyOWI0M2YyMDdkN2YwODU5Mzc5MDUz&docUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fthelibertarianrepublic.com%2Fdoctor-viciously-punches-heart-surgery-patient-in-face-and-chest-post-surgery%2F

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Adam Kokesh holds solo open carry protest in DC, July 4, 2013. Video.

Adam Kokesh in Washington, DC
Adam Kokesh made national headlines several months ago when he tried to setup an Open Carry march on Washington, DC.  He later called off the march, citing the governments 'desire to slaughter peaceful protestors' as the main reason.

Many opinions were expressed over this topic and over Adam himself.  Regardless of where you fall on your thoughts on him, he is an American and is a combat Veteran.  He has as much of a Right to free speech as anyone else.

On July 4th 2013 Mr Kokesh put his proverbial money where his mouth is.  In bold defiance, he stood in Freedom Plaza with a pump action shotgun and loaded it while he made a statement: "We will not be silenced, we will not obey..."  he ended it "See you next Independence Day."

The caption in the video challenges viewers to count the felonies being displayed and it appears Mr Kokesh is well aware that filming and publishing these 'felonies' could very likely end with him being imprisoned for a very long time.


One can only hope Mr Kokesh has established a crack team of lawyers prior to this protest.  Perhaps it will end with some of DC's draconian guns laws being struck down in court?

In any case, right or wrong.  Love or hate the man, Adam Kokesh acted as though he was a truly a free man.

On a side note, it was encouraging to see Adam dressed nicely and his facial hair nicely groomed.  While I never judge a person based on appearances, it's one less thing to detract from the fact that ownership and possession of arms are a Right.

A Right that is enumerated in the Second Amendment of the Constitution. 

"You have Rights antecedent to all earthly governments: Rights, that cannot be repealed or restrained by human laws; Rights, derived from the Great Legislator of the universe."  -John Adams

Give us your thought on the matter at: www.facebook.com/GunReviews

You can see Adam's Open Carry video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-sAGGoPidEY

Happy Independence Day, Happy Secession Day.

The term "4th of July" has become something I grown to hate.

Sure it makes it easier for retailers to hawk their sale items and takes up less space on the marque but are we really doing a service a to our country by using this mindless term?

237 years the American Colonies seceded from England.  The Declaration of Independence was a the worlds largest middle finger to a tyrannical government since April 19th 1775 when the "Shot heard round the world" was fired in Lexington, MA.

For those of us who always say Happy Independence Day how many blank stares and people do you catch off guard?

I submit the works of Mark Dice.  Not just from one year but from 3 years ago, from 2 years ago, or just a few days ago.  Now if any of you has ever watched "Jay Walking" this probably doesn't come as a surprise.  Obviously he is posting all his highlights but it illustrates the point.

This year, when you hear 4th of July, remind that person of why we seceded, why we declared Independence.

"We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness."

As you celebrate today and this long holiday weekend, ask yourself, how many of the injustices listed by our Founders in the Declaration of Independence are just as applicable today as they were 237 years ago?


When asked "Well, Doctor, what have we got—a Republic or a Monarchy?”  Benjamin Franklin responded   “A Republic, if you can keep it.”  Over two centuries later, do we still have a Republic?

Mather Byles famously asked: "Which is better - to be ruled by one tyrant three thousand miles away or by three thousand tyrants one mile away?"

On Independence Day ask yourself what exactly are you celebrating.  Remind others about why we should be celebrating.  Remember that the only legitimate purpose of government is to protect property and Rights.

More importantly make a pledge to fight for the things that made America great and come Monday, put you full efforts into returning America to a Constitutional Republic.

I urge all of you to reread the Declaration of Independence today and spend some time reflecting on it and the message it conveys.  The founders ended the Declaration with these words:

"we mutually pledge to each other our lives, our fortunes and our sacred honor."  It may not sound like much to some today, but when taken in the context that the Declaration of Independence was an act of treason, you can see the gravity of what they had done.

Honor their sacrifices today and always.

Happy Independence Day.... Happy Secession Day!

www.Facebook.com/GunReviews

©2013 13C All Right Reserved

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

IL: Gov Quinn uses Amendatory Veto power to further restrict lawful carry.

Governor Quinn has used his Amendatory Veto power to add even more insane restrictions onto those who would choose to defend themselves from violent criminals.

Under these new provisions you couldn't carry into any establishment that served alcohol.  Not even if you didn't have a sip of alcohol or even enter the bar portion of the establishment.  This would make virtually every table service restaurant in the state a no-carry zone.

Even more idiotic is a restriction that would only allow person to carry one firearm with one magazine, not to exceed 10 rounds. 

It would also make the default status for a business be a non carry area unless they specifically posted signage allowing concealed carry.

It also amends the language of "mostly concealed" to "Completely concealed".  Anyone who lived in a state (like Florida was a few year ago) where it must be 100% concealed knows how insane that is and how difficult it can be to be not show .1% of your firearm when you reach a top shelf in a grocery store or bend over to pick up your child and they accidentally lift your shirt.

The House and Senate can accept the Amendatory Veto with a simple majority or they can over ride it.  The bill passed with enough support that, should the votes not change, the original bill will be passed without these new draconian laws.

We'll keep you up to date on the latest at www.facebook.com/GunReviews

Monday, July 1, 2013

Who needs a gun in a grocery store? This mother did.

In a previous blog I covered a topic in which a handful of anti self-defense Facebook users posted comments akin to "Who needs a gun in a grocery store?"

37 year old Sammie Wallace
Enter Alicia Keating.  While grocery shopping at a Walmart near Oklahoma City with her two daughters a deranged 37 year old man grabbed her two year old from her shopping cart and things went from bad to worse.

In a bizarre move, he hands the mother a cell phone to call a childhood friend who was a police officer before pulling out a knife and holding it to the young girls throat.

A brave Pastor uses his shopping cart to help corral the hostage taker.  Two things can be noted here.  His bravery for doing what he could with what he had and his stupidity for allowing his own young child to stand right there.

There is a reason why some of us train with our carry guns.  There is a reason why some of us only carry full sized, or near full sized handguns, every day.  There is a reason why we have a quality holster.  Put together, the investment made can be thousands and thousands of dollars, from the firearm to the carry gear to the training and ammunition costs.

Ask yourself, if you were in this situation, with your two yer old daughter in the arms of a madman, would you want that .38snubby or tiny .32acp and a basic NRA pistol class or would you want the best possible handgun you could have that would give you the absolute best chance of carrying the day with the best possible training you *could* have taken?  With adrenaline pumping, palms sweaty, heart racing, tunnel vision closing in, honestly, what situation would you prefer?

This unfortunate mother needed a gun in a supermarket this day.  She didn't have one, so she and her fellow shoppers waited until men (and presumably women) with guns did show up.

Recently we saw a mother in NJ home with her two children who was beaten and thrown down her basement stairs as the NannyCam caught it all. 

You need to carry or be within arms reach of your firearm at every moment of every day.  You have no idea when a deranged mad man may decide you are going to be his next victim.

Video with my commentary to the incident:



Join us at www.facebook.com/GunReviews to talk more about it.

Sunday, June 30, 2013

Magpul participates in last minute magazine drop in CO, days before the ban takes effect.

Magpul, in keeping with it's efforts to support the freedom loving people of Colorado, participated in a massive event in which 5,000 people lined up for free or discounted magazines just 2 days before the 15 round limit kicks in.

The event had several speakers and the magazine drop featured an actual air drop courtesy of the Magpul helicopter.  Magpul dropped off several boxes of magazines as well as keynote speaker Dana Loesch, a nationally syndicated radio talk-show host based in St. Louis.

The event, aptly called "Freedom To Arms", was hosted by Free Colorado, one of the many groups working tirelessly to recall the elected representatives who voted in favor of the 15 round magazine limit set to take effect July 1st.

Speakers lambasted the legislature during the event, “I didn’t realize that you all were rolling in cash money over here in Colorado that the state Legislature could just run off perfectly good business,” Ms. Loesch said. “They are not the elite, they are the elect, and they can be unelected and recalled.”

When referencing Gov Hickenlooper, State Senator Greg Brophy received a massive response when he asked: “Did he take your call? You know whose call he took? He took a call from the mayor of New York City, I guarantee you Gov. Hickenlooper will listen to that when you bounce him out of office and bring freedom back to Colorado.”

55 of the 62 Sheriff's in CO are suing the state over the anti-freedom bills and several were on hand for this event.

“When the legislators passed these laws, I think they fully expected us to lay down, roll over and surrender — well, let me tell you, that ain’t gonna happen,” said Weld County Sheriff John Cooke. “These laws are unconstitutional. These laws are unenforceable. These laws hinder our rights. They are knee-jerk reactions. So therefore, since they’re unenforceable, I will not enforce them.”

13C will continue to keep you up to date on the situation developing in Colorado as well as the rest of the nation.

Please join us at www.facebook.com/GunReviews

©Copyright 2013 13C All Rights Reserved

Thursday, June 27, 2013

A female perspective on carrying and encounters in public and online.

Today we welcome Jane to the 13C crew.  Today she covers a few different points and speaks to the recent outbreak of online hatred towards females who choose to defend themselves.  Jane brings some unique view points to the crew and is a medical professional and mother of three, she covers some of her other background in this blog. We are looking forward to future contributions from her.

-------------

 
Today I wanted to give my thoughts and opinions from a female perspective on firearms and carry. I would first like to introduce myself you to you and give some background. I will not bore you all with my life story but will give you the basics on who and I am and where I am coming from. I also would like to add I am one female and my opinions and thoughts do not represent the female population as a whole.

I grew up around firearms and I have been shooting since I was 3 years old. My father was in the Army and a Veteran of the Korean War, he taught me firearms safety and how to handle firearm. He made it very clear what a gun could do and that they were not "TOYS".
Fast forward to present day, I am now a wife and mother of 3 very beautiful daughters and I am in my early 30's. I have a life time carry license and I exercise my right to carry and protect those little girls everyday. I, along with my husband, teach them as my father taught me. I want them to be safe and knowledgeable on this subject. 

Now with that out of the way I will speak on some of my personal experiences both positive and negative. Overall they have not been entirely bad. I see comments all the time online like:  "who/why would you carry a gun to go grocery shopping?"  Well me, that's who! ... Why?  Well, because crime can happen anywhere. Muggings in parking lots, car jacking, rape. True it's not a common everyday thing at grocery stores but guess what? it still can happen. 
 
My mother when I was a child was a victim of such a crime in a parking lot setting. My mother had her permit and she carried; but wouldn't you know it that day she left it in her glove compartment......yes she did. :(

This was my 1st lesson in life. She was severely beaten while onlookers gawked like school children. I said I will not ever allow myself to be a victim. So I carry EVERYWHERE it's legal for me to carry and guess what, if a place has issues with me exercising my God given right to defend myself I don't patronize the establishment. I WILL not be a victim.

Occasionally I will open carry and I have been in my local grocery store (with my children in tow) and you know the comment I hear most?  "You have a gun! You have kids! Why do you have that thing around your kids!" This comment makes me laugh but I am also very happy to hear it as well. Why? Because this open the door to an opportunity to educate the uneducated. I carry partly because I have children.  I am their mother and it's my job to make sure they are safe. As a woman I know no other item that will help me do that effectively.

The other common comment I hear is; "You have a gun, are you a cop?"
Really? Really guys? So only cops and crooks should own and carry guns! (I shake my head in sadness on this) The public is in need of much education. I do get good reactions, like "You carry a gun, that's awesome!" or "what kind of gun is that?"  I get curious stares. I will say most adults don't really notice, it's their children who point it out. 

Onto the internet, recently there was a blog post that featured me outside my local Costco.  First, yes I shop there, yes I carry there and no I have never been asked to leave. That day, if and when they do, will be the day they no long have my family and I as members.

There were some very rude remarks made recently towards myself and other females on various facebook pages. It makes me wonder why there would be such hostility over such a simple photo? Those
comments don't really bother me. The key word here is REALLY. People like that have some strong issues, to have a photo dig up such raw negative emotion. I worry about these people. These are the people that need help, that need education. These are the types that try to infringe on my personal freedoms. 

These people are yet another reason why I carry. These types of people are unstable (These people shop at grocery stores too by the way). These people are everywhere. I can't rely on 911 to help me if one of these deranged people decide to pop their top. I must be ready. I must not only be ready but willing to do what needs to be done at any give moment. Let's face it, if it is the deranged guy or my little sweet baby girl I will not hesitate to defend myself and her. 

I think the average "normal" mentally stable citizens who are opposed to legal firearms are just afraid. I feel the media plays such a big part in why the average Joe hates me and my firearms. They make me, a law abiding mother and wife, look terrible. I am your daughter, I am your niece, I am you neighbor, your coworker and even the check stand girl.  I believe that if every responsible adult legally able to carry would, we could break this cycle. 

Please take your daughters, wives and  female friends to the range. Please stand up and exercise your right to carry and please pass on knowledge to any and everyone willing to listen. 

I know I was kind of all over the place but this topic is a very broad one with many things being touched on. I have many years of life stories revolving around Firearms and the Firearm community. 
Again these are my opinions and thoughts expressed, you need not agree or disagree. 

If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them at www.facebook.com/GunReviews

Thank you,  Jane 

©Copyright 2013 13C All Rights Reserved

Friday, June 21, 2013

Do you patronize anti self-defense merchants? Some food for thought.

We've all seen the "No Guns" sign.  Some times it's a gun with the famous circle and line through it,other times it words or a mixture of the two.

The question is what do you, as an advocate of self-defense, do when you see such a sign?

The first question to tackle is if the sign actually carries any weight of the law.  In Texas for example, a sign must be in compliance with the law in order to be valid.  In Texas a "51% sign", referring to the percentage of income derived from alcohol sales or a "30.06 sign" would carry the weight of the law and a person carrying there could get into trouble for violating the law.

On the other hand, in states like Indiana and Florida, "no gun" signs carry no weight of the law, unless it is already illegal to carry there anyway, such as k-12 schools or federal buildings.  Laws vary from state to state, so make sure you know your states laws.  In Indiana you can carry into a bar, regardless of what percentage of funds it derives from Alcohol.  In Florida, bars are prohibited.

Let us move onto the question at hand, assuming it is legal to ignore the sign and carry anyway, what do you do? 

Some people will automatically say "concealed means concealed" or "how will they know". Obviously that goes without saying, but it's a deeper question that that.    This line of thinking also obviously ignores laws in states where Open Carry is legal or where the carrier does not yet have a license to conceal carry (due to age restrictions or perhaps personal feelings about needing a license to exercise a Right) and must carry openly.

In any event, morally, what should you do?

First and foremost, my moral duty to protect myself and my family trumps any alleged property Rights claim by a corporation.  At the same time, there are many other factors at play, lets take a look at them.

Do you want to give money to some douchebags who hate self defense?  This is the real kicker.  Is that bulk pack of hotdogs at Big Box store #1 really any better than at Big Box Store #2?  Are the wings at the triple W as good as at the Lube?  Do you have a viable alternative?

Property Rights.  I think you'd be hard pressed to find a more ardent supporter of property Rights than myself.  Setting aside the fact I don't want to give money to someone who doesn't want me to defend myself, lets take a look at this.   Maw and Paw own something, it's pretty clear that Maw and Paw have Rights, including property Rights and full control over their property.

What about Big Box store #1?  They aren't a real person.  They are a government created entity which has incorporated to gain a myriad of protections afforded to businesses under the law.  Do fictitious entities have Rights?  Under our system of laws, it's really privileges that are extended to corporations. 

Some stores will try and claim "liability" or "insurance" reasons.  Ask yourself, would stores like Starbucks, Target, Cabelas, Gander Mountain and dozens of others have corporate policies allowing carry in their stores (where legal) if this was really a concern?

I wanted to float these thoughts out there, I don't have any hard and fast answers here and I don't want to see any new laws, but from a moral perspective, the issue of property Rights isn't so clear cut when dealing with a corporation open for business to the public... and yes, a big box retailer whose only stipulation is a fee of $55 a year for membership is considered open to the public under the law.

What's the worst that could happen if you ignore the signs?  Assuming they carry no weight of the law, the worst that can happen in most states is you would be trespassed if you were asked to leave and refused.  No issues there.  Unless....

Unless your name was Erik Scott.  Erik Scott was shot and killed by Las Vegas Metro PD in the vestibule of a Costco in front of his fiancee after he exited Costco after finishing checking out and handing his receipt to the door checker.  Erik was a West Point graduate who had a promising future with his wife to be.  He was senselessly killed for committing no crime what so ever.  A costco employee had seen his handgun when he reached up to get an item off a top shelf and called 9-1-1 to report a man with a gun.  A wrongful death suit is pending after the corners inquest found the 3 officers innocent of any wrong doing.

Ultimately it's up to you to decide if you will patronize stores that wish to deny your Right to self defense.  I say Right to self defense and not Second Amendment right for two reasons.

First, the Right to Keep and Bear Arms is enumerated in the 2A, saying 2A right makes it sound like the Right originates from government.  It doesn't.  If it did, it would be called a privilege.  The other reason is because the 2A applies to government only.  It doesn't apply to private property or private individuals.

I hope this has gotten your mind thinking about how you should treat anti self-defense businesses and we would love to hear your stories and thoughts about this at:

www.Facebook.com/GunReviews

-Joe

© Copyright 2013 13C All Rights Reserved.

Sunday, June 16, 2013

This Father's Day, are you being the Father you should be?

Joe's youngest daughter in his hand.
Are you being the father you should be?

The dictionary definition of father is generic.  Entry #1- A male parent.

Are you being more than just the male parent?  A Father is many things.

He should be a provider, a protector, a disciplinarian, a friend and a solid role model among other things.  He should inspire his children to greatness.

What are you providing for your children?  Food, clothing and shelter?  What about their future?  I'm not talking about a prepaid college plan, I'm talking about the future they will have to live in.

Every compromise, every inch of Liberty you give up or fail to secure for you children, is something your children will have to fight for when they grow up.  That is assuming your children even realize what Liberty truly is.

Have you ever taken time to research what the word Liberty means, even in a simple dictionary search?
1
. freedom from arbitrary or despotic government or control.
2. freedom from external or foreign rule; independence.
3. freedom from control, interference, obligation, restriction, hampering conditions, etc.; power or right of doing, thinking, speaking, etc., according to choice.

Teach your children what Liberty and Freedom actually are.  Not some catchy phrase uttered by the masses on Independence Day as they wander in search of $1 packs of hotdogs.  Go back reread #3 from the definition above.  Freedom from control, interference, obligation, restriction, hampering conditions.... Right now, can you honestly say you live in such a country that will allow your children to grow up free from those things?

Liberty is, or should be, the birth Right of my children.  How can they know, I mean actually KNOW if they even have it, if they aren't taught what true Liberty is. 

What it means to actually be free.  Free from oppression, tyranny, a government that steals the fruits of their labor and monitors their lives every time they utilize modern technology.

Be their protector.  Acquire the means and the ABILITY to actually be able to protect and defend your children.  Train, train and train.  That trusty snub nosed .38spl in your pocket and the Nikes on your feet may have been adequate when you were a 21 year old bachelor with no responsibilities.  As a Father with a significant other and children, if you are still relying on the Nike defense, you are a worthless sack of **** and your family deserves better.  Upgrades aren't just for cellphones.

Joe with his first born.
As a protector, you can't always be there for them.  You may leave for work, they'll need their independence as they grow up and you will grow old and die eventually.  Teach them and train them to be independent, to be able to protect and provide for themselves.  Do the same for your wife.

Instill good shooting skills as early as you can. As they age, instead of sending them off to some random summer camp, take them to pistol and carbine classes.  Train them to fight for themselves and to be able to fight for their children one day.  My readers know a firearm isn't a magical talisman that wards off evil by itself and that confidence comes from skill at arms. 

Do everything you can to assure they can claim their birth Rights.

Today, on Father's Day, make a promise to yourself and to your children to be a Father.

Visit www.Facebook.com/GunReviews to share with us what you do to teach, train and inspire your children.

-Joe
©2013 13C


Friday, June 14, 2013

Thompson Center issues MAJOR recall of rifles.

Thompson / Center has issued a major recall of several of it's rifles:

From their notice:

“STOP USING YOUR RIFLE AND RETURN IT TO THOMPSON/CENTER AT ONCE.  This recall applies to all ICON, VENTURE and DIMENSION rifles manufactured before June 13, 2013." 

The issue appears to be related to the safety.  When the safety is on and the bolt is cycled, the safety can disengage.  This issue alone will not cause the rifle to fire, the trigger will still have to be pulled.

If you have one of the affected rifles, you can CONTACT TCARMS HERE.  TC will be covering shipping each way with a pre paid label.

Moving forward, TC will marking rifles so you can look and know which rifles have been serviced.  Look for a small mark on the safety.  They will also be placing a "red star" on any returned or new boxes.

Please share this with every one you know who may own one of these rifles.

We'll keep you informed of any updates here on the blog and also at www.Facebook.com/GunReviews

The following is a list of affected models:


Icon Venture Dimension
Icon Classic Venture Predator  
Icon Weather Shield Venture Infinity  
Icon Precision Hunter Venture Dream Season  
Icon Warlord Venture Weather Shield  
Icon Field Venture Compact  

Please reference the recall for more information.

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

More Americans are carrying than ever before.

As violent crime rates continue to fall more Americans are, at the same time, carrying firearms for self defense than ever before.

Case in point: Indiana.  Indiana has seen license application times skyrocket to nearly 18 weeks for paper applications since last year.  Contrast that to my application (many, many moons ago) that landed a license to carry a handgun (LTCH) in my mail box approximately 2 weeks after I mailed it in.  Earlier last year license times were 6-8 weeks.

In States across the country similar stories are playing out, from Pennsylvania to Florida, more Americans are exercising their Right to self defense outside of the home.

Continuing to focus on Indiana, from Fourth Quarter 2012 to First Quarter 2013, Indiana saw an increase in LTCH holders of 17,250.  Bringing Indiana's total to 466,275 as of March 31, 2013. That's a significant portion of Hoosiers who may be out and about ready to defend themselves at any given time. According to the 2012 Census Indiana has a population of 6.5 million people.

Indiana is one of several states that extend the Right (read privilege if you need a license) of self defense to those 18 years of age.  The 2012 Census indicates that 25% of Hoosiers are under the age of 18 which means of the potentially eligible persons, nearly one in ten now have a LTCH and that number is growing... rapidly.

Over the past few years other States, like Wyoming and Arizona have completely eliminated the draconian laws that require people to pay extortion fees to the State just to be able to legally defend themselves.  This awesome and Constitutionally permissible tend has been aptly dubbed " Constitutional Carry".

Remember that documents like the Constitution it's Bill of Rights enumerate Rights.  They don't grant them and they certainly don't require us to seek permission to exercise those Rights.

The last hold out, Illinois, will have some sort of carry law this year.  As I type, the ban on carry has been struck down as unconstitutional but oddly enough had a 6 month stay and then an additional 1 month stay on actually striking the ban down.  I would posit if something is unconstitutional today, it shouldn't be allowed to continue for political expediency for a single day, let alone 7 months.

Contrary to what those who hate self defense say, more Americans want to defend themselves and more are taking steps to do that.

You can find us at:  www.facebook.com/GunReviews and www.13CGunReviews.com
©2013 13C All Rights Reserved

The great American summer camping trip. It's easier than you think.

Many of us have found memories of camping with our families as a child.  Hiking, stories around the fire with roasted marshmallows and maybe smores if we were lucky.

As we get older, we tend to forget about the little things and simplicity of  simply being outdoors, even if it is at a State Park.  Those of us who love the outdoors some times forget that "base" that got us into the outdoors.

Just because we can't exactly go ultralight backpacking on a 3 day excursion into the back country with our family, be it because of a spouse who doesn't camp or children simply too small, chances are our first experience was at State or National park camp ground and THAT is what sparked our interest in the "woods".  Especially for someone like me who grew up in the suburbs.

Our first camping trip this year was to Chain 'O Lakes State Park near Albion, IN.  The main feature of the park are the lakes, as the name implies.  The State DNR created channels that allow you to paddle a canoe or kayak between each of the seven lakes.  We spent one day on these lakes, enjoying the different foliage and fauna of the area.  This was my youngest daughters first experience on a canoe and it was a "really cool" experience.

The park also offers numerous hiking trails and a nature center.  Hiking trails vary in intensity and are laid out well so you can pick and choose your way around.  This is especially helpful if after an hour or two of hiking those little legs of your youngest start to wear out and you want to cut your hike a bit shorter but not have to back track.  Many parks have similar layouts.

Cooking over a wood fire.  You just can't beat it.  I saw a few other campers with charcoal but why?  You're going to have a camp fire that night anyway, why not just start it a little earlier?  Grass fed beef was on the menu this night.

As night falls the stars appear overhear, I am still in awe of the beauty of the night sky and kids love to gaze up into the heavens at things they don't normally get to see.  Living close to large cities, light pollution hides most of the stars in the night sky from our view when we are at home.  One day I hope to move further out from cities and live in the 'middle of no where'.  Until I can find a job that will allow me to do so, we're stuck with only seeing a few dozen stars at night, compared to the thousands we saw while camping.

Camping doesn't have to be hard or expensive.  For example, sites at Chain 'O Lakes range from the teens to mid twenties a night, depending on if you opt for a primitive site or one with a small electric box.  Skip the cheap camp cookware sets at wallyworld and buy one decent cast iron skillet.  Preferably something that will pull double or triple duty like a 16" deep skillet.  Once you start cooking with one, you might find you use it at home more than your modern cookware.  They will also last your family for generations if properly cared for.
Great Basin (left), Coleman 10 person, Screenhouse for dog crate (right).

Tents are the hard part.  You can go cheap, middle of the line or very high end.  I have one tent I bought back in 2000 that my daughters used for this trip.  It's a Great Basin locker dome and has held up amazingly, I think I paid $100 for it.  I have used multiple times a year since I got it.  I haven't bought a bigger tent that is 'high quality' yet.  My higher quality camping gear is still centered around camping light or single person.

The newest addition was a tent big enough for all of us.  I took a gamble on a Coleman 10 person tent from a big box wholesale store because of the stores no hassle return policy.  Also because my wife was basically about to refuse to camp with me again without a full on air mattress and tent big enough to stand up in.  Hey, it's about getting outdoors and giving my children a fun camping experience.  If that means a bigger tent and air mattress, so be it.  *For the record, my 2" self inflating REI mat is still more comfortable than an air mattress.

When forking over money for a tent, keep in mind "What would I be paying if I was in a hotel".  All of a sudden dropping a few bills on a tent that you can reuse (with care) for many years to come doesn't seem so pricey after all.  Also keep in mind you can bring your dog at most campsites and there isn't an upcharge. 


The important thing is to GET OUT THERE!  Get your kids into the 'wilderness' anyway you can.  Get that love of the outdoors in their blood early.  Many State Parks have shooting and archery ranges nearby  as well.  Make it as fun as possible and build those memories that will last a lifetime.  Just because you can't make it Yellow Stone National Park this year, doesn't mean a fun 3 day weekend isn't within your grasp.

Get out there and remember, sometimes you just have to say: Frack it, we'll do it live!
Did someone say Clampets?


Join us at www.facebook.com/GunReviews and www.13CGunReviews.com as we continue the adventures.

©2013 13C All Rights Reserved

Friday, May 31, 2013

Illinois passes veto proof concealed carry bill.

Friday May 31st marks the day that the last of the 50 States enacted a concealed carry law.

The Bill HB 183 sets up some onerous training requirements and asks for $150 from residents and $300 from non residents if they wish to defend themselves.


There doesn't appear to be any reciprocity in the bill but transporting a handgun in a car, by non residents, will now be protected if they are legal to carry in their home state.  The jury is still out on the language over loaded vs unloaded transport.  The language about leaving it locked in the car if you exit tends to lend itself to loaded, where as the "transport" usually indicates unloaded.  The controlling terminology will define it transport actually means transport.

This bill will need to be combed over with a fine tooth comb.  There are many, many places off limits.

This is a horrible bill by any standard outside of Illinois.  For Illinois, it's an accomplishment.

You all know where I stand.  The Right to self defense should never require a fee, permit or license.

We'll continue to keep you up to date on the latest at www.facebook.com/GunReviews

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

California Senate passes bills for bans on most semi-auto rifles, magazines, ammo registries, guns that don't exist and more.

The California Senate, with blatant disregard for their oaths of office, passed a number of anti-self defense

SB396: The mag ban to end all mag bans.  Retroactive ban on all magazines over 10 rounds.  Regardless of production date or when they were acquired.  As a famous CA Senator once said "Mr and Mrs America, turn them in".

SB53: This gem requires a background check and defacto ammunition purchase registry in order to buy a single round of ammunition.  Other onerous requirements are placed upon sellers of ammunition, including sending ALL sales records to CA Dept of Justice.  If that wasn't bad enough, all sales must be face to face.  No more internet sales.

SB47: This bill turns virtually every single semiautomatic rifle in the state of California into a 'assault weapon'.  The expanded definitions close so called 'loopholes' such as "bullet buttons" "maglock firearms".  Registration would be mandatory and once registered they would be nontransferable, including to heirs.  Upon death, they would have to be surrendered to the state.  If you live in California, you need to read the bill and realize just how draconian this will be if it passes the house and gets signed off on by the governor.


SB108: A locked door isn't going to be enough in CA anymore.  If you don't lock up your firearms when you leave the house, you'll wind up in prison.

SB293: Calling Space Gordon... should anyone ever invent a "owner authorized" handgun, it would be illegal to sell a handgun in California that didn't contain such a 'safety' mechanism  18 months afterwards.  No exemptions for spouses... although law enforcement would be exempt from this requirement.

Other bills include: SB299: Lose or have a gun stolen and didn't report it?  Guess who is the criminal now?  SB363: Live with someone 'prohibited'?  No self defense for you!


These are extremely egregious bills. If you live in California, I urge you to contact your representatives in the house: Contact CA Legislators.

13C will continue to keep you up to date on this and other legislation from across the country at:
www.facebook.com/GunReviews

Good luck California.

©2013 13C
bills today.

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Texas moves one step closer to allowing College students to defend themselves.

Gov Rick Perry, note the "Come and Take It" shirt.
On Sunday 5/27/2013 Texas legislators approved a bill that allows students to keep their firearms in their vehicles while on their college campus.  It now heads to Governor Perry for his signature.

The Texas house has passed a number of pro self defense and pro firearms Bills over the past month.  Governor Rick Perry is expected to sign all of these when they reach his desk.

Currently HB 972, allowing carry for college students, has stalled in the Senate.  It is far from ideal and has a provision to allow colleges to opt out after having some meetings.

How the Right of self defense can eliminated based on a meeting is beyond me.

As John Adams said:


"You have Rights antecedent to all earthly governments: Rights, that cannot be repealed or restrained by human laws; Rights, derived from the Great Legislator of the universe."



We'll keep you up to date on the latest at: www.facebook.com/GunReviews

Thursday, May 23, 2013

3D printers, saving Liberty and saving lives. The $25 multishot handgun and printed bullets. Time to get excited, very excited.

13C

3D printers: saving Liberty and saving lives.


DD Libertator
On May 5 2013 Defense Distributed made history by releasing the schematics of the worlds first fully printable gun, the Liberator .380. The name was taken from the single shot, disposable, .45 air lifted into a disarmed Europe during World War II to help resistance fighters acquire better firearms from the occupying Axis forces.  The thought was simple: walk up to Nazi, stick the Liberator in his ear or chest and pull the trigger.  Boom- instant free upgrade to whatever the Nazi was carrying.  Toss the Liberator and pick up a once dropped Lugar or Stg 44.  Pretty nice trade.

Unfortunately four days later on May 9th, in a blatant display of tyranny, the US Department of  State ordered the design be taken down because it "may violate the Arms Export Control Act of 1976".  The alleged purpose of that law was to curb the arms race and export items "for legitimate self defense purposes".

In the governments opinion, the Rights of Americans are trumped because some non US citizen, somewhere, may, possibly, not use a .380 caliber handgun for self defense.  It's absurd.  It's insulting. It is tyrannical.

The irony here is rich.  Once something goes out on the internet, it's out.  In the 4 days the file was live on Defense Distributed's website it was downloaded over 100,000 times.  Only the government would think banning it's originally hosted file could contain it.  As predicted, it has been mirrored on hundreds of sites, including the infamous Pirate Bay.

The next time some legislator starts squawking about movie or music piracy and passing bills like SOPA (Stop On Line Piracy), keep in mind the gun you may one day need to save your life might only be available through the "pirates".  Obviously there are hundreds of freedom and liberty based reasons to oppose bills like SOPA that have nothing to do with piracy but that's a topic for another blog.

There were a few monetary issues with this initial project, the printer ran 5 figures and the material the first AR lowers used cost hundreds of dollars.

LulzLiberator
Last week a engineer from Wisconsin known as "Joe" test fired the LulzLiberator a .380 from a $1,725 printer made with $25 worth of material.  The .380 fired 9 rounds.. from a printed barrel.  They only stopped testing because the sun went down.  This is a huge step forward and very exciting.  This puts printed firearms in the reach of most people.  Obviously as technology continues to advance and materials, the ability for a tyrant to disarm a populace could become impossible.

Printed bullets?  Obviously this is a work in progress but it's still a cool step forward. Taofledermaus and his friends aren't the only ones working on 3D rounds, a quick search will turn up others.


Saving lives already?  This is an awesome story out of Michigan, Doctors and engineers print a new airway and implant it in a young child, the material they printed from is a biomaterial, so it will resorb, unlike the materials being used for the firearms.



Why do I include such a heart warming story here... aside from the fact it's pretty freaking cool and shows how awesome these printers can be?   Because it's yet another way the government will try and control, regulate and license these printers.  Don't think so?  You must not work in medicine then.  Read the story about seeking permission from the government before making the device that allowed the child to come off of a ventilator for the first time in it's life.

Someone could print their own medical device!  Someone could print their own gun!  Think of the children! 

No?  Charles Schumer has already held a press conference seeking to ban them.  The insanity abounds.  That a law in the US would prohibit a terrorist from printing one in the US, let alone the rest of the world, is sheer insanity. At best. It's only point would be to restrict the law abiding US Citizens like you and I.



Advocates of Liberty face a tremendous challenge over the coming months, not just on the standard firearm front but also on the printer front as well.  Banning, licensing or regulating this amazing technology will stifle creativity,  crush free markets and empower future tyrants.

We'll keep you up to date on the latest information on the technology as well as pending legislation at:
www.facebook.com/GunReviews

13C

©2013 13C


Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Doctors required to ask about guns in the home. Do you have to answer?

Doctors required to ask about guns in the home. Do you have to answer?

Prior to the implementation of Affordable Care Act aka ObamaCare, one of the executive actions taken by the President was to direct the Department of Health and Human Services to ask (not require) physicians and hospitals to ask new patients and patients being admitted into hospitals for things like same day surgeries about firearms in the home.

Once ObamaCare takes effect in 2014, physicians and hospitals will be required to ask these sorts of questions for new patients.  How do they circumvent the minimal protections?  They won't be specifically asking about 'lawful' possession or storage.  In years past, I've recommended people find a new doctor if their physician attempted to invade their privacy in such a fashion.  Now, physicians will have no choice but to ask these questions.  You won't be able to get away from them... unless you simply stop seeking medical care.

It's important to clarify this is on the Health and Human Services side and not under IRS mandates.  The upcoming 2014 requirements are also separate from executive actions already taken.  Make sure not to confuse the two or let others murky the water by pretending they do.

Undoubtedly some will pop over to snopes.com  before they get to the end of this, so lets deal with that.  Snopes still has misleading information on their site, citing old laws and an old Medicare issue and completely ignoring the upcoming changes in the law.  It probably shouldn't be surprising as Snopes is unabashedly biased when it comes to Liberty issues. This new requirement is contained in the roughly 2,700 pages of new laws passed by Congress slated to take effect next year.


So the question posed is, do you have to answer?  Is there any law compelling patients to answer these invasive questions which have absolutely nothing to do with their medical care?

NO!  You do not have to answer them.  Their is no law requiring you to answer those sorts of questions, the new law requirements are on providers.  Not now and nothing in the 2,700+ plus pages going into effect in 2014 requires you to answer.

We'll keep you up to date on the latest news regarding this and other RKBA issues at:

www.facebook.com/GunReviews

©2013  13C

Monday, May 20, 2013

Phoenix PD rushing to destroy firearms before cut off.

Earlier this month I wrote about Governor Jan Brewer signing a bill requiring firearms purchased at so called "buybacks" to be sold and not destroyed.  This is just the latest positive step Arizona has taken respecting Citizens and their Rights, not to mention recognizing firearmss as the tools they are.

Not everyone is on board however and in blatant disregard of the wishes of their employers Phoenix PD has been holding massive "buybacks" as quickly as possible and rushing to have these firearms destroyed before the new law takes effect.

Thousands of firearms are slated for destruction. While technically legal, cash strapped cities begging for tax increases destroying valuable property is a slap in the face to taxpayers.

I can only hope the good people of Phoenix call for the termination of the PPD Chief of police over this outrageous stunt.  It's likely the mayor is also on board with this stunt, if so I hope the people remember in the next election cycle and vote accordingly.

We'll keep you up to date on the latest at:

www.facebook.com/GunReviews

Join us in our fight for Liberty.

www.13Cgunreviews.com

©2013 13C

Sunday, May 19, 2013

By Hook or Crook: Robbing children of their birth Right to self defense any way they can. CDC declares 1 in 5 children mentally ill.

By Hook or Crook, Robbing children of their birth Right to self defense.

Be very careful of any more upcoming "mental health" anti-self defense bills.


The anti-self defense rhetoric of the CDC is anything if not blatant.  They have tried and tried to turn self defense into a "public health" issue for decades.  While no one wants a person who is seriously mentally deranged and dangerous in possession of steak knife, firearm or car, when nearly half of all Americans start getting classified as "mentally ill", one must start to question the agenda.


For example David Hemenway, director of the Harvard Injury Control Research Center and author of the book Private Guns, Public Health, claimed that “we know very, very little about the deterrent effects of guns”.  In his writings and speeches he asserts the only way to circumvent Constitutional protections of firearms is to turn them into a public health issue.

There are many examples of this, such as the Institute of Medicines: Priorities for a Public Health Research Agenda to Reduce the Threat of Firearm-Related Violence, which was head CDC members way around an official CDC meeting under such a title.  Such items discussed include Technologies, Strategies, Techniques and protective and potential risk factors.

"Protective and potential risk factors".  When you consider how returning war veterans are currently being treated in relationship to being allowed to defend themselves and the desire of some in Washington to to lump anyone getting counselling or any anti-depression medications on to a "no buy" NICS check, it's not hard to see where this next push for a mental illness classification is coming from.

The CDC just announced that 1 in 5 US children may have a mental disorder.  Check out the CDC publication; ADHD, Tourettes, Autism, Autism spectrum (which is a catch all), mood disorders, anxiety, the list goes on.  I'd not be surprised if the number of 1 in 5 isn't increased to 1 in 4 by the end of the year.

Does the CDC just want more money or is something more insidious at work?  Given the history of the CDC, what is currently happening under existing laws including rules clearing in violation of the laws, I think so.

While I encourage you to read the story for yourself here is a sample:
 "
Mental health is important to overall health. Mental disorders are chronic health conditions that can continue through the lifespan. Without early diagnosis and treatment, children with mental disorders can have problems at home, in school, and in forming friendships. This can also interfere with their healthy development, and these problems can continue into adulthood.... up to 1 out of 5 children experience a mental disorder in a given year... Because of the impact on children, families, and communities, children's mental disorders are an important public health issue in the United States.

Public health surveillance [and] Ongoing and systematic monitoring of mental health and mental disorders will help... Public health includes mental health. CDC worked with several agencies [such as the IOM I linked to above]  to summarize and report this information. The goal is... to develop better ways to document how many children have mental disorders, better understand the impacts of mental disorders, inform needs for treatment and intervention strategies, and promote the mental health of children. This report is an important step on the road to recognizing the impact of childhood mental disorders and developing a public health approach to address children's mental health."

Public health surveillance [and] Ongoing and systematic monitoring of mental health and mental disorders will help... Public health includes mental health. CDC worked with several agencies [such as the IOM I linked to above]  to summarize and report this information. The goal is... to develop better ways to document how many children have mental disorders, better understand the impacts of mental disorders, inform needs for treatment and intervention strategies, and promote the mental health of children. This report is an important step on the road to recognizing the impact of childhood mental disorders and developing a public health approach to address children's mental health."

"Confiscate, Confiscate, Confiscate"  and "any way we can" are two very recent headlines that show how, having failed in both the court of public opinion and the Supreme Court as well as most state legislatures and in Washington these anti-self defense zealots are trying yet another avenue.

Under the moniker of 'mental health' nearly one in two Americans could be barred from owning firearms.  Sound extreme?  It's not, under a version of one failed bill, simply attending a mandatory PTSD debrief could disqualify a service man or woman from owning firearms.  Why not the traumatic event of losing a loved one in a car accident?  PTSD is another 'catch all' that does apply to survivors and relatives of car accidents.

The fight for our Rights and the Rights of our children is far from over.  I encourage all of you to stay active, there are some legislators and so called mental health "experts" who want to disarm Americans at any and all costs and won't stop until they succeed.

Please join us at:

www.facebook.com/GunReviews

and

www.13Cgunreviews.com

We will keep you up to date on current RKBA events, in addition to reviews on firearms and gear.

In Liberty,
Joe

©2013  13C